New Apple Hardware

Well it is currently June 14, 2023 and WWDC 2023 has now come and gone. What did we get as far as hardware?

1)A new MacBook Air with a 15″ screen and it has an M2 chip in it!
2)Mac mini and Mac Studio with M2 chip in them!

I am writing this post currently on my 2016 MacBook Pro 15″ with 2.7 GHz Quad Core i7 processor in it. I loved my TouchBar but I will say that since I cracked my laptop screen a year and a half ago I have been running the MacBook in clamshell mode so I have not used it.

So my question is simple…. Could I actually buy a MacBook Air now and have it run everything my MacBook Pro has been doing AND possibly even do it faster? I do know that I tried using a 2019 MacBook Pro 13″ and that was slower than my 2016 15″.

Obviously I could purchase a MacMini and I think THAT would for sure be faster than my MacBook Pro 2016.

Another question to be aware of is how many external screens these new Macs will run! Our church bought a new iMac and found out the hard way that Apple had decided to cut back on the number of external monitors the new iMacs can run! Sad News! The new MacBook Air 15″ will support only one external monitor at 6k at 60hz.

For Mac computers with the Apple M1 Chip: You can connect a single external display to your Mac. Docks don’t increase the number of displays you can connect. On a Mac mini with M1 chip, you can connect a second display to the HDMI port

Now…. let’s talk about VisionPro…. Did you WATCH the demo? Have you read ANY of the reviews form the people lucky enough to actually get to test one out? We are once again finding ourselves standing on the brink of a computing paradigm shift. I think this will be somewhat akin to going from 8 track players to using an iPod to play music.

That’s all…. That’s my thoughts….

wait…. that price though…. ouch! Which means it’s going to be awhile until “average” folk can afford a VisionPro!

Leave a comment