Handwritten Music Notation on iPad Using Notion

Notion LargeIt always is fun to see the look on somebodies face when I show them the magical things you can do with an iPad and music. For instance, handwriting music notation! It also amazes me how many do not even know that this is possible so I made a little video for you. 

Handwriting music notation seemed like a pipe dream a few years ago. One company promised the possibility and that app never came out. Then we had NotateMe and NotateMe Now arrive from Neuratron. Wow…. We could music the old fashioned way but it would magically turn into digital music notation! Of course Neuratron one upped themselves and soon released PhotoScore which allowed us to take a picture of sheet music then turn THAT into digital music notation! I’ve written about this already and that post still continues to be one of the most visited posts on my blog – read it here.

But….

Notion and its handwriting IAP is the reason I’m writing this blog post as well as sharing my little YouTube video with you. Notion realized this IAP a while back but now that I have an iPadPro 12.9″ and an Apple Pencil I wanted to share with you one more reason to invest in technology!

I’ll make this short and sweet…. The experience of the larger screen combined with the absolute joy of using the Pencil makes handwriting music notation something  that is fun, easy, effective and amazing. Watch the video if you have not seen this in action. The recognition is outstandingly accurate. I think this is about as fast as trying to use a MIDI keyboard now to enter notes. It just simply works.

The Notion app itself is $14.99 and the hand writing plugin is $7.99 for a grand total of about $23. A price every music teacher should not even hesitate at. 

One word about my little video…. I used Explain Everything to create the video, annotate it and narrate it. Then I dumped it into iMovie where I dumped in my own audio soundtrack that I created using Cubasis and a few iPad synths. So one question I am trying to resolve for myself as my laptop quickly approaches its end of life is whether or not I really need a laptop any more…..but that is another blog post for another night! 

Here’s the video…..

3 thoughts on “Handwritten Music Notation on iPad Using Notion

    1. I recorded the Notion movie by hooking the iPadPro up to my MacBook using the normal cable and then used QuickTime on the MB to record the screen. Reflection and I also believe AirServer can do the same thing.

Leave a Reply

