Is It “My Music” – Great Discussion about using loops.

There is this great discussion over on the iPad Musician Facebook site about whether or not using loops can be called “Your music”. I’ve posted some of it here because I think this is a great discussion for educators to have…. (Please don’t bother leaving comments below unless it is about using loops in education… 🙂 )

ORIGINAL QUESTION:

“Say you buy all the soundpacks for maschine2 (or one of those kind of apps) and you use their sounds to make tracks, is it really “your music” or do you consider it a kind of “remix”?”

 RESPONES:
1 –   Personally I know its not “cheating” but has a vacuum of achievement.. Technically I know it’s my music. I am also sure you don’t want to start herding goats.
2-I thought using loops was cheating, so I programmed my own using samples. I then thought using samples was cheating, so I recorded real drums. I then thought that programming it was cheating, so I learned to play drums for real. I then thought using bought drums was cheating, so I learned to make my own. I then thought using pre-made skins was cheating, so I killed a goat and skinned it. I then thought that that was cheating too, so I grew my own goat from a baby goat. I also think that is cheating, but I’m not sure where to go from here. I haven’t made any music lately, what with the goat farming and all.
3- I consider it a remix. I come from the land of playing an actual instrument, so I tend to want to compose my own stuff. There’s nothing wrong with using sound packs, loops, samples, etc. I wouldn’t want someone using something I created and call it their own, but I’m totally okay with them creating a variation on a theme. I myself have used loops to create a skeleton of a song, but eventually replace the loops with my own stuff.
4- Loops = lazy. To a point. But it’s more about what you do with the tools at hand. Back in the hardware studio I had years ago there were stacks of sample CDs. It’s no different really from using presets on synths. Creating your own loops using sound packs in apps is probably what the majority of us are doing. But if you were just sequencing someone else’s loops, well, that’s cheating.
5- Yes, it’s yours. Pick up and play an acoustic guitar – the sounds it makes are generally the same, and you arrange those sounds to make your melody. You can play them in various ways for sound variations. Doing the same with an app isn’t so different. A musical instrument can be anything you make music with.
6- It’s your music, even loops. That’s what they are made for, for people to make music with. Rappers have made very unique and creative songs using nothing but lifted loops and sounds. It’s all about what you do with it. Just stacking loops from a pack ain’t very creative, but there’s much more you can do with samples and loops.
7-
Leave a Reply

