Most Important Thing When You Get An iPad (iPod or iPhone)

blue-clouds-iconI’ve had this discussion with SO many people that it started to scare me that there are so many who don’t understand the first step when setting up your new iOS device!

STEP ONE – Set up an iCloud account and turn that sucker ON!

STEP TWO – Start playing with your new device!

WHY?
Even if you are like my wife who never even realizes that she is using iCloud Step One is vital in the long run! You could use only Yahoo mail for instance, you wouldn’t even NEED to use the iCloud mail account for email. You might NEVER even look at your PhotoStream and honestly you may not ever even realize that there is such a thing! In fact, you may NEVER realize that you could go to a web browser on a normal computer to check your calendar for the day or to look up someones address and phone number. That’s OK!

BUT TURN IT ON!

Because in the situation that you actually need all the benefits that iCloud give you, there is nothing I can do for you if it’s not turned on.

You know when you used your iPhone to take all those pictures of your grandpa in the last month before he passed away? Well if your little sister gets you iPhone and changes the security code to something none can figure out and she doesn’t even know what the heck it was…. well, those pictures are gone too!

You know when you dropped that iPad onto the sidewalk outside and it hit on the corner and shattered? Well, when you go to turn your new iPad on you are going to have to find all those phone numbers and addresses from someplace!

What about all those passwords you saved in your Notes app? Hope you also wrote them down on a napkin and shoved it in your sock drawer because it’s going to be a bugger if you can’t recall all of those – think of it…. go ahead… what are you going to get locked out of? Your bank account… your mail accounts…. your wi-fi router… your Pay-Pal account…. AHHHHHHHHHH…..

 

BENEFITS:
So with iCloud turned on none of the horror stories above (all true stories by the way) would have occurred.

When I bought my iPhone the last time the salesperson asked if I needed help transferring all my numbers over from my old phone. I smiled, shook my head and proceeded to type in my iCloud user name and password (which I DO have memorized). Before I got to my car, al of my contact, calendars and email were already on my new phone. By the time I got back home and wasn’t driving I was enjoying the retina display to browse through my last 1000 pictures I had imported into iPhoto, man they look good on that screen too!

Safari bookmarks are synced if you would like them to be!

Currently I am trading iPads my wife’s iPad for another one with twice the amount of memory. As I go through the old device I am enjoying the fact that so many apps have used DropBox to store information on. This means that I can simply go to the new iPad, open that app, sign into DropBox and wa-la! My information is there!

BONUS:
These days more and more apps are allowing us to utilize other cloud services besides Apple’s iCloud and DropBox. We have many more viable options now…. Box, Google Drive, OnDrive and SugarSync to name a few. Of course we can’t forget SoundCloud.

For us musicians –

  • ForScore just put out an update that allows us now to access Box, Google Drive and OneDrive.
  • Documents by Readdle – This is the app I use as a gateway to ALL of my cloud accounts – It even allows me to access my personal Box account PLUS the Box account for the band!
  • PDF Reader – Same access as Documents
  • Cubasis – Allows access to DropBox and SoundCloud

The Cloud is awesome! Embrace it and dig in to see what app developers have taken the time to make YOUR life better by integrating the Cloud with your favorite apps!

 

2 thoughts on “Most Important Thing When You Get An iPad (iPod or iPhone)

  1. Excellent article Paul. May I add the axiom: “If data doesn’t exist in three places, it doesn’t exist at all.” The internet connected cloud is a nice augment to a couple personal hard drives in separate physical locations. 😉

Leave a Reply

