Recording with My iPad and the Cubasis App (MIDI into Audio)

I thought it might be fun to explain a technique I use often when recording – even when it is just messing around.

When building a song,  I will often record audio tracks only but I have discovered that this leads to an issue! I find that using just audio gives me actually two big issues! 1)I forget what I played so when I go to add more to my composition I mess up and play things in wrong – especially 2-3 days later if I didn’t finish the first day! 2)When recording straight audio if I mess things up it means re-recording a large chunk again!

Today I want to tell you an easier way….

It’s simple – Use MIDI (of course we are talking virtual MIDI on the iPad).

Here’s what I mean…. I will load up Cubasis first in order to be ready to record. Then I open one of the many different music apps I have and start messing around. When I’ve decided that I have something I like then I will set up the MIDI channels in that app so I know they are transmitting out of the app. Then I jump into Cubasis and create a MIDI track. I then set that track to listen to the information coming from the other app (which is as easy as picking it from the list) Then I hit record, jump into the other app and start playing. When I am done I can then go back into Cubasis and edit what I have played to my hearts content. When satisfied then I use Audiobus to take the audio coming from the other app and bring it into Cubasis as an audio track. Now, that does give me 2 tracks wight he same info on it – one is MIDI and the other Audio. I have to remember to mute the MIDI track otherwise it causes me confusion when I hear it playing the other apps later on in the process of building the rest of my composition.

I’ve made a video so you can see part of the process – You will see the MIDI tracks on track 1 & 3 and you will see that I am recording audio from the Thor app into track 2 (the MIDI being played from track one) and then I am also recording audio from Nave into track 5 (the MIDI being played from track three). I have the Thor and Nave apps open in the background both with background audio turned on (this is a very important step you will not want to miss!)

I do have to say that I could NOT have done this on my iPad2, I am currently using an iPad Air and have not had the audio issues I used to have with the slower processor. I have no idea how smoothly this would work on an iPad3 or iPad4. Of course I am very excited to hear Apple’s WWDC live cast Monday to see what interesting advances in technology they will be wowing us all with!

If you have question leave me a comment and I will get back to you…. Here is the video…. (By the way, if you can figure out the time signature for this let me know will ya?)

 

One thought on “Recording with My iPad and the Cubasis App (MIDI into Audio)

Leave a Reply

