Composition in Band Class Update

SandsWell it’s been about three weeks I think since I first posted about getting the students started on their composition assignments.

My first and utmost thought on this entire project is that if I don’t get them writing they will never get any better! So far we are now on the fifth week. The only requirement right now is that they write out a melody and make it look neat. It is now time to up the ante…. Next week I will start marking points for correctly notating the melody- things like making sure the stems are on the correct side of the note heads, correctly observing time signature …. You know the details. Up until now I have simply been making comments on their papers about these details. There has been a steady improvement in quality. As I share each others compositions with the class and they get to see what they are all doing, you can see things click in their brains! Especially when a 5th graders writes out something amazing and a high schooler wrote out something lame.

Some of the kids are using the free version of NotateMe, others are using NoteFlight and the rest are using paper and pencil. I like NotateMe because it reinforces writing musical notation correctly and neatly enough that the app can actually recognize the symbols being drawn.

From here on out I will be having the High School students take a picture of their creation and posting it on their blogs…. A huge reduction in paper work! Most of the kids are using WordPress for their blogs.

In a couple weeks we will cross the bridge of….. Can you play what you wrote. Did you play it first or write it first and does it make musical sense ( especially in the higher grade levels)

Of course I have to compose as well…. Here is my composition for this week inspired by my friend who is in India…

Leave a Reply

