Control your computer from your iPad! (for 50% off)

screens3iconScreens 3.1 from Edovia is a great way for teachers to do what is not possible from just an iPad. Currently it is on a Black Friday sale for $9.99 (On sale from $19.99)!

Here is the description from their website…

“Leave your computer behind and travel light! Screens is a beautiful, yet powerful Screen Sharing and VNC client that lets you connect back to your Mac, Windows or Linux PC from the comfort of your living room, the corner coffee shop or anywhere in the world.”

There you have it. I’ve use this app in my band rehearsals for a variety of reasons. One of the main reasons is that AirPlay and BlueTooth just don’t really make the cut for realtime use in a classroom situation while using the school network for things like SmartMusic. Problem solved with this app…. I run SmartMusic on my classroom computer, fire up Screens on my iPad, and now I can control SmartMusic form any place in the rehearsal room that I desire; Standing at my podium, from back in the percussion section while playing along with the kids, while helping the low brass fix hand positions, and even from the clarinet section while helping the poor 5th grade beginners put the correct hand on top!

I can send students back to the practice rooms to take their SmartMusic tests and when they run into problems I don’t have to leave the main rehearsal hall with 50 other students to loose control while I trouble shoot password or network issues! In fact I can use AirPlay to put my iPad screen onto the projector screen and display what the student in the back room is doing wrong to the entire class! That way they can learn along with the first kid! It’s very awesome!

It’s like having a well trained helper who is trained to use the tech!

This is not even getting into the ability to access my laptop while sitting in a meeting to access a file that I forgot to upload to my DropBox!

Leave a Reply

