Apple’s Lion Update

Well any day now Apple will be releasing their latest operating system for the Mac. There are some great features packed into this update. I’m sure you have all read many reviews about what all is going to be great. I want to write about the update a bit differently.

What is in this update that scares me…..
The auto save feature for one – This scares me because it has been so beat into me to save, save, save! Even students know this and live by it. Probably because we have all lost something because we did NOT save. I have been using FileMaker Pro for a while now and auto save has been a part of this app for a while now. It is always scary to just quit. I do have to say though that it has worked flawlessly! I’ve laughed at students because they look at me in bewilderment  when I tell them they do not have to save the database after updating the uniforms they just handed out. I’m sure Apple has done auto save right but it will take a few months to get used to quitting without saving AND not having a knot in our stomaches I think!

One other feature is AirDrop. This scares me because I will daily be reminded about the fact that there is no one else in my school district that I will be able to take advantage of this feature with! How very cool is this going to be – how very easy – but not for me!

Leave a Reply

