iFretless Bass App Review

iFretlessIconThere are so many music apps available online that it is sometimes hard to filter through and find the truly inovative apps that will truly change the way we make music. Even when you do stumble on an app that you think might fit into this category it takes me several videos and a ton of reading to fully believe enough to actually pull the trigger and purchase the app.

iFretless Bass is one of those apps. I have been looking at this app for a while now and after seeing a YouTube video this weekend I decided it was time to make a purchase. Here are the two reasons I think this app is going to be a blast to start using;

  1. The interface allows for a new method of interaction not easily done on a piano style interface. This interface allows for so much more expression and access to a wider range than a piano does on iPad. Go watch a few videos on their web site and you will see what I mean.
  2. The app allows you to use MIDI to control other apps. This means that even though this app has amazing samples already included that are going to allow anyone to record some great bass lines, the sound options are endless with the inclusion of MIDI! Use iFretless to control Animoog or SampleTank or whatever other app you want. Even use it to control external MIDI devices!

Of course I would not even bring this app up on my blog here if it did not support AudioBus! One other technique I am going to try out is using this app along with Apollo, an app that allows me to use Bluetooth technology to wirelessly control a software synth inside of Logic Pro on my MacBook. I hope the latency is fast enough to use live!

Go watch a few of their videos, actaully go watch all of their videos! This app is going to be a nice addition to my live performance tools not to mention the apps I use to record my own songs! I love the new interface and possibilities it all opens up!

This is the app featuring iFretless Bass and Voice into iVoxel -

2 Responses to “iFretless Bass App Review”

  1. earthbalm Says:

    Reblogged this on Earth Balm Music and commented:
    So now i need to add an iPad to my “need-to-get” list? I love the possibilities that this triggers in me.

  2. Tim Behrens Says:

    Thanks for sharing my video. I really do enjoy iFretless Bass. The ability to turn on an XY pad, have some level of touch sensitivity, and some really nice sounds built in all make it one of my favorites. You might check out Geo Synthesizer, too. They are kind of laid out in the same way, each with it’s strengths and weaknesses.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

