Teacher Organization tools on the iPad/Web

Volunteer SpotOne of my jobs as a Band Director is to get parents, students, friends and alumni to volunteer for a multitude of jobs every year. This year I am going to try out Volunteer Spot. This site has already shown me a few things I really like about about it and one con.

SETUP:
Volunteer Spot allows you to create a free account to help you organize your events easier and faster. After creating your account then you have to setup activities. In order to keep my list simple I created an Activity called “Band Booster Concessions” and one called “Marching Band Performances”. Inside of each Activity then I plan events on specific days. Each day allows me to add Tasks for volunteers to do or Things for volunteers to bring. It really is fast and easy.

SPREADING THE WORD:
After all the setup then it is time to spread the word and get people signed up! Volunteer Spot gives you links to embed into your classroom website, links to post to social media (Facebook and Twitter) and even a pre-created blurb, with links, to insert into a newsletter. You are also given the option to email people with a little message – which I immediately sent out to my Band Boosters.

SIGNING UP:
As people click the link they are then taken to Volunteer Spot. Once there they give their email address (very important because they will automatically be sent a reminder a few days before their events!) [The emails will not visible by you if you only signup for the free account - that is the pro plan]

VolunteerSpot Clipboard appAlso – there is a free iPad app called clipboard you can use to sign people up with! The app is very helpful – it gives people very clear directions when they are using the app to sign up. 

There is also an app called Sign UP for your iPhone which gives you more access – This is the app you, the organizer, would be using. 

 

AFTERWARDS:
The web interface and the iPhone app also gives us some nice tools for keeping track of who has signed up and who has worked. The reports are laid out very nicely. A complaint I do have is that I can only print one month at a time for reports! Not too big an issue but an extra step which could be a huge issue if you are woking on more than just a couple of months at a time. 

Volunteer Spot will even help you send out Thank You notes later as well!

ISSUES:
I am not a fan of the “feature” they have that helps you collect money as a fundraiser. Volunteer Spot gets quite the cut for providing you this service.

I also am not a fan of the advertising on the web site and in the emails they send out. BUT this is a free service so they do have to make money some how!

Also – there are still some bugs in the ClipBoard app. Beware of changing the orientation of the screen. You may end up having to force quite the app, I did.

 

So how are you guys signing up, tracking and keeping your volunteers? I would love to hear from you!

One Response to “Teacher Organization tools on the iPad/Web”

  1. correo para iphone Says:

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 577 other followers

