Creating Condensed Scores in Sibelius (or hiding staffs you don’t need to see)

Viewing notation files and scores on the iPad is a very useful feature to have. Thankfully Sibelius has Scorch and Finale has Finale iPad Music Viewer available. There are considerations to take into account though when creating scores to transfer over to the iPad. Things like the screen is smaller! Boy would I like that larger prototype iPad that has been floating around the web! Because that screen is smaller though there is a need to get rid of any extra music that I don’t really need to see.

When I create scores in Sibelius there are almost always extra staves that I do not always need to see. For instance, I don’t always need to see the Baritone BC because I might only need to see the TC part. Maybe I have two versions of the Bass Drum Line, one with four drums and one with three. I need both but only want to see one when I conduct from my iPad or when I print out the score. There are always those instruments that double another instrument, especially in middle school literature. Maybe using condensed is not the correct terminology.

CREATE NEW PART/SCORE – Basically what you have to do is create a new part from the parts window. Open that window, click on the blank piece of paper at the bottom of that window. This brings up a spot for you to pick which parts are to be included in this new, smaller score. After picking the parts to include then you need to rename this new part. The next step confused me for a very long time.

INSTRUMENT NAMES – Once you are looking at your new smaller score you will notice right away that there are not instrument names at the start of your score and instrument abbreviations at the start of each page. This is not acceptable. To fix this issue you will make a trip to the Engraving Rules menu, click on the Instruments option in the list on the left. In that box you will then find the options to view names at the start of the score and the start of each new page. Keep in mind that these options are ONLY for this new part.

LAYOUT – Another thing you will probably want to do is to have a different Document layout for the FULL score containing all the parts and a different Document layout for the smaller score that only contains some of the parts. Not a problem. Simply make a trip to the Document Setup dialogue while viewing each score and make the appropriate settings. I find that portrait mode works better for the full score and then many times I prefer landscape mode for the smaller score.

All of this gets a bit confusing so I have created a YouTube video for you to watch me step through this. There is no sound (that you would want to hear) so don’t turn your speakers up to hear me. It’s like mid-night right now and my wife would not appreciate me narrating a tutorial video right now!

F.Y.I. I shot the video from my iPad and uploaded it to YouTube from my iPad. It is in HD? I don’t remember what the iPad shoots at. I would suggest watching it full screen though in YouTube and increasing your resolution if you have the bandwidth to do so. You will be able to see details way better.

One Response to “Creating Condensed Scores in Sibelius (or hiding staffs you don’t need to see)”

  1. Chuck Says:

    When I want to create a condensed score, I want to combine staves into one. For example, I can have two staves, one for flute 1 and one for flute 2. On the conductor’s score, I want to see both flutes on a single staff without messy double notes where the two are playing in unison.

    How does one do this?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

